ELH#116 – Making Change

This week in the E-Learning Heroes Challenges, we were challenged to make an activity for the Food and Beverage Industry. I like participating in the E-Learning Heroes Challenges as it allows me an opportunity to practice and expand my Storyline II skills. The first thing that came to mind was an interaction to allow waiters and waitresses to practice calculating change for customers.

As someone who teaches math at a post-secondary level, and having taught math at a junior high and high school level previously, it always frustrates me to see restaurant staff struggling to make change. I wish that someone had taught them to “count up” at some point in time during their math education.

This interaction has lots of potential for improvement. If I have more time, I will try to incorporate variables into the interaction to allow the learner to choose how much money the customer gives them, or to incorporate question banks or random number generators to increase the number of questions presented to learners. I’d also like to add a time limit to the questions to simulate time pressures of the real life environment.

As usual, I’d love to hear any comments or feedback. Feel free to leave them below.

View my interaction here.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

